Parenting Style- Crunchy, Scrunchy, or Silky?

IMG_3056

There it is- I said it. I am a total Silky mom.

I see mothering style labels everywhere- ‘Crunchy mom’ or ‘Granola mom’ and it makes me wonder. First of all, crunchy is just a gross sounding word ANNND I don’t like granola very much, but the words themselves aren’t the only things that I don’t see fit with my style. The definition of the labels themselves couldn’t me more opposite of my parenting style, and that’s completely ok!

for your reference, here are a few definitions to keep in mind:

Per definition via Snapmom, “Crunchy refers to the crunch of granola, which (as goes the stereotype) hippie-esque people are likely to eat. To be crunchy is to be along the mindset of all-natural. There’s a very broad spectrum but here are some topics associated with crunchy mommies: Natural birthing, home-birthing, placenta encapsulating (we have a video on this), breastfeeding, babywearing, baby-led weaning, cloth diapering, ECing (elimination communication), co-sleeping, bed sharing, non or selective vaccinating, anti-circumcision, attachment parenting techniques, homeschooling or un-schooling, natural medicine (lots of probiotics), natural living, organic eating plus many more that would fall into that same train of thought… What are the other groups out there called? The opposite of a crunchy mom is refereed to as “Silky.”

a ‘Silky Mom’-” Nicknamed the ‘modern mother’ who prefers medicated hospital birth, bottle feeding/part time breastfeeding, uses rice cereals, disposable diapers, crib sleeping, is pro-circumcising, pro-vaccinating, mostly stroller using and one who closely follows the advice of established medical authority. Silky moms often tend to be moms who use sleep training methods like “CIO” (cry it out) & rely on modern products for convenience. “

According to voiceboks.com, “A scrunchy mom wants their child to live in a more natural, organic environment, but can’t quite commit to all the activities and practices involved in being a crunchy mom. So they do some, but not all of it. They are in between crunchy and silky.”

 

I’ll start off by saying that before even having a baby, I never knew that these labels even existed and once I learned about them, I was so far on the spectrum on one of them and from there on out, I knew I was your typical or not so typical Modern/Silky Mom.

For this post, I thought it would be fun to share a few of my parenting styles! Not everyone parents the same way, and we all have reasoning behind our parenting decisions. The beauty about it, is that there is more that one right way to parent!

 

Birth

When I was about 7 months pregnant, I knew that I was going to give birth via a scheduled C-section, more so for medical reasons. I may have been able to have a vaginal birth but the risks always seem to outweigh the benefits, in my case. Guess what? For the most part, all went well and both him and I were completely ok after his birth. I may not have had ‘your perfect’ birthing story, but I’m completely fine with knowing he was born just fine and I healed great! Isn’t that all that should matter, after all?

Feeding

I always knew that I wanted to pump and feed Bryce, don’t get me wrong, I tried breastfeeding and It just wasn’t for me. I remember talking to a woman who told me it was the most beautiful thing in the world- the most precious bonding moment between mother and baby. I don’t know about you, but I had a treacherous time finding the beauty in cracked, bleeding nipples and latching issues. Despite the fact that I got an infection after having him, I tried, but I was weak for about 2 weeks and that’s when I realized that I had tried all that I could. The best part? Bryce got FED! Whether it was with breast milk for a whole month through a bottle, or formula for the rest of his infancy up until he was able to have milk. He was fed and got all of the nutrients he needed- obviously, he’s still here and doing just fine if I do say so myself. (:

Crib Sleeping

This one is ‘iffy’ for me, but ultimately, Bryce slept/sleeps in his own bed since he was about 5 months old. Here is a little back story. My mom gave birth to a baby girl who would have been my older sister- she would be over or just under 30 years old, but she died of SIDS. Jessica was 3 months old when my mom found her unconscious in her crib one morning after realizing it was late in the morning and she hadn’t woken up yet. I have always had a tough time with this because I know how much she hurt over what happened to her daughter, perhaps there was something she could have done to prevent it from happening? Perhaps not. Because of what happened to Jessica, and the fact that my husband was deployed overseas (which made me the only one waking for feedings, etc. at night), Bryce slept with me in my bed until dad came home and we were able to get situated again. To this day, Bryce sleeps in his own bed. I love Bryce with every ounce of my soul, but to be completely honest, I take my sleep very seriously and do not enjoy being kicked, slapped, punched, etc. during my sleep by a 4 foot rugrat. Who’s with me?!

 

Stoller Situation

I won’t lie- I’m a stroller pushin’, convenience loving momma! Bryce is now 4 years old and I’m over here literally searching for a ‘kid size’ stroller for him, (If we’re FB friends, you may have seen my post about it ;)). Now I don’t see myself as that mom that is carting around a pre-teen, (if you’re that mom all power to ya, girl!), but there is something about having a stroller handy when you’re kid gets tired of walking the mall, or Disneyland, for example! I’d rather have a nice comfy stroller than lug a 45 pound kid on my hips- amiright or amiright? Which leads to this question: kid moms: Stroller options, please!

 

I could think up several other topics to discuss under this post, but I’ll give you a breather! From birthing, to co-sleeping and beyond, no matter what your views and parenting choices may be, you are doing the RIGHT thing! Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise! So let’s have it- are you a silky, scrunchy, or crunchy mom?

xoxo,

Dianna

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

